Need some advice.

dobberjean

Hi everyone!!

Wow...where to begin...i started working out when i was 15 years old. i began with soup cans for weights ;) but i have since moved up to 12 lb dumbells. i had lost about 20 lbs and kept it off all through college, but once i graduated and started working at a desk job, i have gained back 20 lbs. to compensate for the time i spend at my desk, i upped my workout time from 45 minutes to 2 hours each morning..i mix up my workouts as much as possible to keep from platuing and getting bored, which i have been doing consistently for 3 years now. my question is i still have quite a bit of body fat. i don't know how to get rid of that. i run 6 miles a week, i do kickboxing, step, jumping rope, lots of weight lifting, circuit training, but i guess i am disappointed that i am not seeing the results that i thought i would have. has anyone else feel like this?

RE: Hi Dobberjean!!

What are your eating habits like? I'm not implying that you're eating too much, I'm worried that you're eating too little and putting yourself into starvation mode. When that happens, you body hordes all food it consumes and your metabolism slows to near nothing. You sound like you're a workout queen:)! So I'm wondering if either you're not eating enough to fuel your body, or too much. Anyway, it's just my $.02!! But I hope that this may help with something you might not have thought of.

Aimee

Hi-
Could some of the weight you have gained be muscle? Gosh, based on what your workout schedule is, I can't imagine it wouldn't be.
And it is really true, muscle does weigh more than fat!!! (Even though it is a killer to step on the scale and see the numbers stay the same of even go up!)
Maybe you could keep a food journal on what you eat...it sounds kind of dorky, but it really helped me realize the quanitity and quality of what I was fueling my body with everyday.
Hang in there..

Lynn

Sooo there with you