Need a beginner Running Program

R_Lam

Cathlete
Hi,
I want to start running and wondered if anyone could share a good program to help me ease into it. I need to lose weight for summer, was doing really well until I started to rebel against chicken breast and tuna and hit Mc D's for 2 weeks. Being an apple it went straight to my keg! So now I look like I'm in my firts trimester! I hear running gets the fat off fast?

RE: Need a beginner Running Program....VERY long

Hi R Lam. I have been running for about 2 years now. I will agree with you that it is a great fat blaster. When I started running, I saw results almost weekly....not saying that you will see the same results.

I had been an advid walker for years, but I noticed that walking wasn't cutting it for me anymore. The weight wasn't coming off after my third baby and I started my 4th pregnancy about 8# heavier than I wanted to be. My cousin had been running and looked great, so i said that after this baby, I was going to start running.

The first thing and the most important is to get a good paid of running shoes. I go to Finish Line at our mall and get a pair that are on clearance. They are usually about 35-50 bucks and I buy the athletic inserts. I love the people that work at my Finish Line. They all have said that if you buy them on clearance and put those inserts in them, they are like a $120 pair of shoes. The inserts will extend the life of your running shoes as well. The insoles that come with the shoes only last about 15 days. Get a good pair of running shoes.....it is more than worth it.

The next thing is to not push yourself too hard too fast. I have done this more than once and have really worn myself out.

How I started running was this.....