Lower body getting bigger

ckanuckel

Cathlete
Hi Cathe,
I'm new to using your workouts(about a month now) and love them, but I have a concern/question. Is it possible that my lower body could be getting bigger? I haven't changed eating habits or anything that would make me gain weight, but I do notice my pants fitting tighter in the around my middle and my thighs. I do cardio 3x a week, weights 2x a week and pilates 2x a week. Can you give me any help or advice on this please?

I have the same concern...seems the more I do, the bigger my thighs are getting as well. I've taught aerobics and weight trained for ten years now and have muscular thighs to begin with. And I've been even more strict with my diet, too.

Please....we need an answer. THANKS!!!!!

Glad to hear someone else has this concern. I was beginning to think I was crazy. My husband says I nuts, but I know my body. Cahte, PLEASE answer us.

Not Cathe obviously. But I will share my experience. My background is that I am an avid Cathe workout devotee since 1998. My legs are quite muscular, similar to Brenda of Cathes background exercisers.

When I regularly do workouts that utilizee squats and lunges with weights, my thighs get bigger. I use a slim fitting pair of jeans from 1999 for my guide.

I keep the workouts with weighted squats and lunges to a maximum of once per week or less. And I add in running and increase FLOOR leg work. This seems to slim my legs nicely. I do not do the standing work of PLB,S&H, PS, or GS legs. I have done Leaner Legs in rotations and the legs in PH adn MM and ME and not gotten bigger. My legs get a great workout with kickboxong and the interval workouts so I don't worry about them not getting challenged. Of course everyone is different, so trial and error is crucial. What has worked for me may not work for others... i just thought I share my results.

Judy
AKA "Likes2bfit"
sport-smiley-009.gif
http://www.click-smilies.de/sammlung0903/sport/sport-smiley-003.gif

Thanks Judy!!!