How can I help strengthen my knees?

nenita

Cathlete
Hi Cathe,

This is my first time to post on any forum, and I would like to begin by saying "Thank you" for all the wonderful workouts you have provided. I recently started using the workouts you have available on FitTV and have done it for 3 weeks. I have seen results in that time.

However, I was recently diagnosed with ostheoarthritis on both knees and twisted my ankle 2 weeks ago. My doctor told me to stop exercising for 2 weeks, and been given meds to reduce any inflammation. I wanted to know if you have any recommendations on how I can build up my knee strength. It's been painful for me to get up from a sitting position, walk down the stairs in my house or to even do my 2-mile walk. I can't stand not being able to exercise.

I saw that you had knee surgery on one of the posts, and since I see that you don't have any problems with your exercises (squats, lunges, etc.). what knee/leg exercises did you do to strengthen them after the surgery? Which of your workout DVDs can you recommend that I follow first after my 2-week rest? Eventually, I would like to own all of them. I am also planning on registering for the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer 3-Day here in San Diego in November. It's a 60-mile walk so I definitely need to train for it. Your suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thank you again for all that you do and for being an inspiration to millions of people out there, especially me!

Sincerely,
Nenita:)

Nenita,
I've had knee surgery twice to remove loose cartlidge and learned
the second time that I have arthritis too. It's common, and exercise helps.