Giving up sugar!?

Have you tried taking gymnema sylvestre? Its fairly inexpensive, otc, herbal remedy for sugar cravings. Its an ayurvedic medicine used to treat both sugar cravings, lower blood sugar and alcohol cravings too. I take one Nature's Way for every 20 carbs over my daily allotment. I would take it with extra chocolate, candy or cereals.

Also, the less sugar you have the less you will have the cravings.

Eating fruit at least once a day, and then whenever I had a sweet craving helped me a lot.

I eat tons of fruit! I don't take any sugar in my coffee or tea. But because I'm a professional cook/baker I'm always around food, especially baking. It is often hard to resist especially after a meal I often just want a cookie or something!

Is it the sugar you are trying to avoid or the sweet taste?

If it is the sugar and you still want to sweeten your foods, try a natural sweetener like stevia or PureVia. I used stevia to help wean myself off of sugar but now I incorporate other natural, zero calorie sweeteners such as PureVia.

If it is the sweet taste, I would suggest just gradually reducing the amount of sugar you currently use. For example, if you use a teaspoon a cup of coffee now, go to 3/4 teaspoon for a few days, then 1/2 teaspoon for a few days, then 1/4 teaspoon, and finally no sugar at all.

Did you read what I wrote above? I don't take sugar in my coffee, I don't need replacement sugar substitutes! In plain English: I want to give up desserts! How can this be made easier so that I'm not craving dessert??

I have the solution to cravings!

Hi Skatch,