Fast Twitch Muscles

vonnie

Hello Cathe,
Can you tell me how to develop more Fast Twitch Muscles.
Thanks!!!!!!!!!
And have a wonderful day.
Vonnie

I am not Cathe but I am a personal trainer and can help you out. Fast twitch fibers are developed during anaerobic workouts. This can be weight training or all out sprint type activities. It depends what your goals are. Everyone is genetically different when it comes to their muscle fiber composition. For example, Olympic athletes that do endurance type activities are genetically gifted with a high percentage of slow twitch muscle fibers. While you cannot convert one type of fiber to the other, you can train your body so that slow twitch benaves more like fast twitch or vice versa. I am curious to know what your goals are in regards to your training. Please respond with more info.

Best wishes, Cyndie

>I am not Cathe but I
>am a personal trainer and
>can help you out.
>Fast twitch fibers are developed
>during anaerobic workouts. This
>can be weight training or
>all out sprint type activities.
> It depends what your
>goals are. Everyone is
>genetically different when it comes
>to their muscle fiber composition.
> For example, Olympic athletes
>that do endurance type activities
>are genetically gifted with a
>high percentage of slow twitch
>muscle fibers. While you
>cannot convert one type of
>fiber to the other, you
>can train your body so
>that slow twitch benaves more
>like fast twitch or vice
>versa. I am curious
>to know what your goals
>are in regards to your
>training. Please respond with
>more info.
>
>Best wishes, Cyndie

Hi Cyndie,
Thanks for your reply.
It is very helpful.As far as goals I would like to increase my
speed when I run.And from what I have read about muscles and fibers.Faster runners seem to have more fast twitch muscles.
So I want to see what I can do to increase my speed.
And another goal I have is to have better endurance as well
better tone in my body.