Cathe - can you help? Confused about strength training.

KayM

Cathlete
Hi Cathe! I have several of your aerobics videos (and I LOVE them!) but I have been using the Firm for strength work (I'm definitely at a beginner level when it comes to strength work).

The Firm does not leave my upper body very sore at all (I've tried a couple of other strength workouts, like Susan Powter, that have left me much sorer) so I'm sorta convinced that I need to find something different for upper body. Now I'm totally confused about whether I need an endurance workout, or if I should get something like Slow and Heavy.

Since I'm a beginner, does it even matter? I'm not sure what to do.

My goal is to build some strength. I would like to be more useful around the house (able to lift things more easily, mainly).

Any advice you have on which of your tapes would be best, and how often to use them, would be very much appreciated! I know you're busy so I will wait patiently for a reply however long it takes! And please let me just say how much I love your videos - when you get to the point where you work out for an hour most days, that hour-long workout had better be interesting, and I don't know what I'd do without your workouts!!

Thanks,
Kay

I'm sure not our Cathe, but until she chimes in here I wanted to tell you my experience. The FIRM was an OK start for me and I still like the FIRM, but when I got MIS and started using that is when I got really sore and started to grow some muscles.

Hope this helps a little

Edith