Cathe: Ab 911 for a Desk-Bound Baldie

Aquajock

Cathlete
Hi, Cathe! I know you're just lollygagging around knitting and eating bonbons, so I thought I'd give you a bit of a question:

I normally work abs/core 4 times a week, once in the pool (mostly supine work with hand buoys and some standing core work) and thrice on land, the land ab/core work always a mish-mosh or your floor or stability ball planks and floor supine work. It's a fairly productive schedule.

HOWEVER

I'm a paralegal by profession, which usually means I spend about 85% of my work days in the dreaded seated position, and I do believe that excessive amount of sitting has the effect of keeping The Dreaded Pooch alive.

Question:

Would it be beneficial, or counterproductive, to do some brief but effective plank work on the "off days" in addition to my regular ab/core workout schedule? Planks seem to tighten that area much more than supine crunch work, but I don't know if there is the "a little is good a lot is better" myth going on in my head.

Your opinions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

A-Jock

bump!

And I do mean, I have quite a belly bump, and also sit at a computer most of the day :) so would love to hear the reply to this!

Hi, Cathe! I know you're just lollygagging around knitting and eating bonbons, so I thought I'd give you a bit of a question:

I normally work abs/core 4 times a week, once in the pool (mostly supine work with hand buoys and some standing core work) and thrice on land, the land ab/core work always a mish-mosh or your floor or stability ball planks and floor supine work. It's a fairly productive schedule.

HOWEVER

I'm a paralegal by profession, which usually means I spend about 85% of my work days in the dreaded seated position, and I do believe that excessive amount of sitting has the effect of keeping The Dreaded Pooch alive.

Question: