Calves

Well, you may not be able to do this, and it may sound crazy to you, but when I did a kettlebell workout last week with heavy bells my calves were very sore!!!

-Beth

Beth, can I ask what exercises you did with the kettlebell that you think may have worked your calves. I suffer from perpetually puny calves and am always looking for a new way to work them. Thanks!:)

You know what? It was just swings, and I think what really fried the calves was doing two-handed swings with heavy bells -- I think it was 35 and 44 pounders. Because it was heavier than I am used to (and I'm pretty new to kettlebells, so "used to" is relative!), I had to really concentrate on making the work come from my legs, and I think that did it! I was working out with a trainer, so not using my own bells.

-Beth

Thanks, Beth!

I'm pretty *new* to kettlebells too so I usually go light even in exercises where I could go heavier so that I can really focus on my form. Right now I use 9lbs for swings. Maybe I'll try some swings with a heavier KB(although my heaviest is 26lbs...way to go on the 35 and 44lbs! :)) and see what happens.

Thanks again!

I remember doing one of Cathe's leg workouts (Gym Style Legs I think) but whatever it was, the endless calf raises gave me DOMS for over a week! Now whenever I see those coming I RUN, not walk, the other way! I don't know of any other calf-specific workouts either, but would love to know if there are any as well...

I remember doing one of Cathe's leg workouts (Gym Style Legs I think) but whatever it was, the endless calf raises gave me DOMS for over a week! Now whenever I see those coming I RUN, not walk, the other way! I don't know of any other calf-specific workouts either, but would love to know if there are any as well...

ME TOO! Did GS Legs on Sunday - legs feel recovered, calves .... not so much!