To Budding Fitness Pros . . .

Aquajock

Cathlete
I've enjoyed reading the thread that Cari Campbell began yesterday, whose dream it is to change careers and become a fitness pro. I'm not a fitness pro, although I am a part-time instructor, as I'm sure many of the participants of this Cathe Forum are.

I'm sure I'd get a lot of agreement from other instructors, part-time or fulltime, that group fitness instruction can be about one of the most emotionally gratifying things you can do. If you're ethical, enthusiastic, well-trained and informed, and in the employ of a fitness environment that encourages those qualities, you have the chance on a regular basis for making something pretty darn special happen for people. Group fitness instruction is an incredible creative outlet, and I highly recommend anyone pursuing it, regardless of whether you want it to be just a part of your life or your livelihood.

Be prepared to invest a lot of time, study, training and practice, as well as some cash, if instruction or personal training is an interest to you. You'll have to be CPR certified, and any facility for which you wish to work will require certification through a recognized entity (ACE, AFAA,AEA,NSCA, NASM, ACSM {the gold standard}). The study is invaluable - exercise physiology, anatomy, biomechanics, nutrition, health and fitness screening, special populations, class and training formatting, etc. Very technical and science-oriented, but it's knowledge you can use for your own health goals as well as your participants. And every reputable certification requires continuing education to maintain it. Because of those requirements, I'd say that I've become a much healthier person, because I know the why's of fitness beyond the commercial hype.