Bodyfat vs Muscle Question

S

srmohler

Hi Cathe,

I know you are very busy with the new videos and studio, but I don't know who else might have an answer for this question.

I am tall and thin looking, but my torso is covered with bodyfat. I am 5'9" and weigh 130 pounds (about the most I've weighed outside of pregnancy). I have very little muscle (although much more than I used to), and a layer of fat from about my armpits to my hipbones. It hangs over my bra, bathing suit, jeans, whatever. My hips/legs/arms are leaner than my middle. Of your background exercisers, my figure most resembles Rhonda's, with a bunch of blubber around the middle, and narrower shoulders.

I am 41 years old, so maybe it's too late for me :). I have been working out for 8 years! I have been doing your cardio, MIS, PS series and now the CTX series for a couple of years now, and see a bit of improvement in muscle, but I'm still very skinny. I'm scared to lose any fat, because my muscle/bone structure is puney, and I'd look terrible, I believe.

I've been working each body part once a week, doing abs 3-4 times a week, and doing cardio 4 times a week. I decided last week to start doing each body part twice a week while reducing the cardio to 3 times a week, hoping I could build more muscle that way.

I use fairly heavy weights, such as a 40 lb barbell on PS lower body, chest and back, with a 30 lb barbell for biceps and triceps (the shoulders are a real struggle for me; I can barely lift 12 lb dumbbells with military presses). I have slowly worked up to these weights, with not much growth at all.

I eat about 2000 calories a day, so I'm definitely not starving, but if I eat less, I start to lose weight. I don't want to be any skinnier. I try to not eat fatty foods (I do cheat with fries and sweets once in a while), and have upped my protein intake a little bit.