Amount of weight used

mkunkel

Cathlete
Cathe,

I'm brand new to your workouts. I recently purchased your Power Hour Plus DVD and Pure Strength DVD. So far, I've only done MIS and Power Hour. I love them. Can't wait to try PS. I know I will eventually get S&H and some of your new ones too. Anyway, my question is, when you say you are using a 35# barbell, does that include the weight of the barbell itself, or are you adding 35 pounds worth of plates to the barbell. I can't believe you use so much - especially on your triceps!

If you don't mind , I have another question about rotations. I'm doing a rotation of MIS 2X/week, PH 1X/week, and cardio 3X/week. I think I'll do this for about 4 weeks. Should I then do a rotation with Pure Strength, or do MIS or PH with BodyMax first? I'm very confused about all these strength vs. endurance issues. Is MIS strength or endurance? Can I do rotations consisting of both types of workouts in the same week? Sorry for all the questions, but I'd appreciate your opinion. You are a really motivating instructor. I actually look forward to doing my weight training workouts since I got your DVDs.

Thanks,
Melissa

Sorry, I'm not Cathe - but I just wanted to jump in here. Cathe uses a 15 lb barbell in MIS with one 10 lb plate on each end for a TOTAL of 35 lbs. Cathe's stamina kills me during MIS (well, she kills me during all of her tapes, LOL). Cathe has posted the following rotation before (but it is just one of MANY combinations to choose from):
MIS 2x's a week with PH 1x a week for 4 weeks
PH 2x's a week with MIS 1x a week for 4 weeks
Body Max 2x's a week for 4 weeks
CTX series for 4 weeks
That is a fabulous endurance rotation. I usually do that complete cycle and then follow it up with a strength rotation:
MIS 3x's a week for 4 weeks
PS 1 time a week each for 8 weeks