New Group -- Training for Sprint Triathlon!

Brighton

Cathlete
Hi everyone! I've decided that this is the year I get back to endurance sport. I did some sprint triathlons when I was a kid (14, 15 years old) and am looking forward to challenging myself that way again.

I'm looking for some like-minded friends so we can help motivate each other! I'm so excited to get going, and hope some of you will join in the fun! ;-) And, it doesn't just have to be just triathlon you're interested in racing to join in! Anyone, whether you're doing a 5K, marathon, whatever... Jump on in! I'm sure we could all use the encouragement & enthusiasm!

About me... I'm 30 yrs old, and have been a Cathe addict for the past year or so. I'm a stay-at-home mom of 2 little ones, and before that I was a competitive swim coach (club & high school). I swam competitively for ten years. I'm not super-fit by any means... I had some health complications with my last pregnancy that left me terribly out of shape and overweight. After a year of working out postpartum, I'm finally feeling fit & healthy-- though there are still a few more pounds I'd like to shed.

If you're on the fence, visit www.beginnertriathlete.com, they have some great training plans for even the greenest newbies! My race is scheduled for the beginning of June, so I'm planning on following a 20 week plan from the beginning triathlete website, augmented with Cathe workouts for crosstraining & weights. My race distances are an 800 meter swim, 12 mile bike, and 3.1 mile run. If all goes well, I might do a second tri in September.

So, if you're interested, climb aboard!!! :7 I'm looking forward to meeting you!

Hi Brighton- love this new thread!! i am planning on doing my first sprint tri this year also. haven't yet decided the date. i guess i should go and look at whats offered so i can set my schedule.

i also have two little ones (boys). i am a personal trainer and group ex. instructor and of course share your love for cathe!!